GSK announces changes to the Board

(NewDesignWorld Press Center) - GlaxoSmithKline plc today announced that at the company’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) in 2013, following nine years of respective service to the GSK Board, Sir Crispin Davis, Sir Robert Wilson and Mr Larry Culp will not stand for re-election to the Board.

The Board has agreed the following succession arrangements in respect of the Committees on which they serve:

Mr. Tom de Swaan will succeed Sir Crispin Davis as Chairman of the Remuneration Committee with effect from 1 January 2013. Mr de Swaan has been a member of the Remuneration Committee since May 2009.
Ms. Judy Lewent will succeed Mr. Tom de Swaan as Chair of the Audit & Risk Committee with effect from 1 January 2013. Ms. Lewent has been a member of the Audit & Risk Committee since April 2011. Mr de Swaan will remain a member of the Audit & Risk Committee following Ms Lewent’s appointment.
Sir Deryck Maughan will succeed Sir Robert Wilson as Senior Independent Non-Executive Director with effect from the closure of GSK’s AGM in 2013.

In addition, Mr. James Murdoch has decided not to stand for re-election to the Board at GSK’s AGM in 2012.

Commenting on the changes, Sir Christopher Gent, Chairman of GSK, said:

“These changes represent a proactive set of steps to ready the Board for future changes in its composition as a number of senior, long-standing Directors stand down in 2013. I would like to put on record my thanks to Crispin, Robert and Larry who have served GSK’s Board with distinction for many years and I’m sure will continue to do so until their retirement next year.”

“In addition, James Murdoch has decided to stand down from the Board with effect from this year’s AGM. James has taken this decision to focus on his current duties as Non-executive Chairman of BSkyB, and following his decision to re-locate to the United States, as Chairman and Chief Executive, International, of News Corporation. On behalf of the Board, I would like to thank James for the very strong contribution he has made since he was appointed in 2009 and wish him well for the future.”
Discuss   Bury

Who Voted Related Links